Agenda

Meeting: Transport, Economy and Environment Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Venue: The Grand Meeting Room, County Hall, Northallerton, DL7 8AD

Date: Wednesday, 15 August 2012 at 10.00 am

1. Minutes of the Meeting held on 17 July 2012.

(Pages 1 to 5)

2. Public Questions or Statements.

Members of the public may ask questions or make statements at this meeting if they have delivered it in writing or by electronic mail to Lorraine Laverton *(contact details below)* no later than midday 10 August 2012, three working days before the day of the meeting. Each speaker should limit himself/herself to 3 minutes on any item. Members of the public who have given notice will be invited to speak:-

- at this point in the meeting if their questions/statements relate to matters which are not otherwise on the Agenda (subject to an overall time limit of 30 minutes);
- when the relevant Agenda item is being considered if they wish to speak on a matter which is on the Agenda for this meeting.
- **3. Highways Agency A64 and Hopgrove Roundabout** Covering report of the Scrutiny Team Leader.

(Page 6)

4. Such other business as, in the opinion of the Chairman, should, by reason of special circumstances, be considered as a matter of urgency.

Carole Dunn Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services)

County Hall

Northallerton

<u>6 August 2012</u> JW/ALJ

NOTES:

(a) Members are reminded of the need to consider whether they have any personal or prejudicial interests to declare on any of the items on this agenda and, if so, of the need to explain the reason(s) why they have any personal interest when making a declaration.

A Democratic Support Officer or the Monitoring Officer will be pleased to advise on interest issues. Ideally their views should be sought as soon as possible and preferably prior to the day of the meeting, so that time is available to explore adequately any issues that might arise.

(b) Tea and coffee will be available outside the meeting room before the start of the meeting will Members please help themselves.

(c) Emergency Procedures for Meetings

Fire

The fire evacuation alarm is a continuous Klaxon. On hearing this you should leave the building by the nearest safe fire exit. From the **Grand Meeting Room** this is the main entrance stairway. If the main stairway is unsafe use either of the staircases at the end of the corridor. Once outside the building please proceed to the fire assembly point outside the main entrance

Persons should not re-enter the building until authorised to do so by the Fire and Rescue Service or the Emergency Co-ordinator.

An intermittent alarm indicates an emergency in nearby building. It is not necessary to evacuate the building but you should be ready for instructions from the Fire Warden.

If you discover a fire, you should sound the alarm and then dial 9-999 asking the Fire Brigade to come to the main County Hall Building, Northallerton. You should then ring County Hall Reception on 5586 to inform them where the fire is.

There are alarm points at each end of the Meeting Room corridor – and at the main stairway.

Accident or Illness

First Aid treatment can be obtained by telephoning Extension 7575.

- (d) North Yorkshire County Council's key objectives are:-
 - Ensuring good access for all.
 - Helping people to live and thrive in safe and secure communities.
 - Helping all children and young people to develop to their full potential.
 - Promoting a flourishing economy.
 - Maintaining and enhancing our environment and heritage.
 - Improving health and wellbeing and giving people effective support when they need it.

Transport, Economy and Environment Overview and Scrutiny Committee

1. <u>Membership</u>

COUNTY COUNCILLORS - (13)							
1.	BLAC	KBURN, John				Conservative	
2.	COCK	ERILL, Mike				NY Independents	
3.	HESEL	TINE, Michael				Conservative	
4.	HESEL	TINE, Robert				NY Independents	
5.	JEFFELS, David			chairman)		Conservative	
6.	JORD	AN, Mike				Conservative	
7.	MARSDEN, Penny Conse					Conservative	
8.	MARSHALL, J W					Liberal Democrat	
9	MACKENZIE, Don					Conservative	
10.	PARSONS, Stuart			(Vice-Chairman)		Liberal Democrat	
11.	SAVAG	GE, John			Liberal		
12.	TROT	ΓER, Cliff			Conservative		
13.	WELCH, Richard				Conservative		
TOTAL MEMBERSHIP - (13) QUORUM - (3)							
C	ON	LIB DEM	NY IND	IND	LIB	TOTAL	
8		2	2	0	1	13	

2. <u>Substitute Members</u>

CONSERVATIVE 1. SWALES, Tim 2. TINDALL, Herbert 3. HUXTABLE, Neville 4. IRETON, David	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT 1. GOSS, Andrew 2. WEBBER, Geoff	
NY INDEPENDENT 1. BARRETT, Phillip 2. BLACKIE, John 3.	INDEPENDENT 1. 2.	
LIBERAL 1. CLARK, John		